Please allow at least two weeks for UAMS to send the appropriate information to the Vital Records department at the Arkansas Department of Health. Then you can follow the instruction at the top of the applications/worksheets to get your copies of the certificates.
If Your Baby Was Born Alive
If your baby lived for any length of time after birth and then died, you will be able to get a birth certificate and a death certificate from the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) Vital Records.
If you have chosen to use a funeral home for burial or cremation services, they can help you get a copy of your baby’s death certificate.
If your baby was born alive, you will receive a social security number for your child in the mail. This number will be important for tax purposes, if you choose to include your child when you file (this is an option, but not a requirement).
If Your Baby Was Stillborn
If your baby died before he or she was born, you will be able to get a Birth Resulting in Stillbirth certificate from the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH) Vital Records. This is a option for any pregnancy loss at 12 weeks gestation or later. This certificate is required if you want to obtain the $500 tax credit for stillbirth, per HB1457 “Paisley’s Law.”
A funeral home cannot assist with this; the certificate must be requested by the parent(s).
You can read more about Paisley’s Law here:
You may order a birth certificate or death certificate online, by telephone or in person at the Arkansas Department of Health office at 4815 W. Markham in Little Rock. You may also order a copy of a death or birth certificate through VitalChek.com.
- Birth Certificate Application
- Death Certificate Application
- Birth Resulting in Stillbirth Application
If you have any questions, contact the Arkansas Department of Health–Vital Records:
5815 West Markham Street, Slot #44
Little Rock, AR 72205