/////UAMS Graduates First Leadership Institute
UAMS Graduates First Leadership Institute 2018-01-05T09:18:34+00:00

JAN. 5, 2007 | The inaugural class of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) Leadership Institute graduated Dec. 15 with a report presented to Chancellor I. Dodd Wilson, M.D., and his cabinet on improving guest relations.

The UAMS Leadership Institute was begun to identify and develop leaders who will contribute to the continued success of UAMS, said institute director Melissa Johnston, organizational development manager for the Office of Human Resources. It seeks to:

• Foster an environment where participants can build relationships and work across departmental boundaries
• Acquaint participants with UAMS needs, challenges and opportunities
• Offer an opportunity to identify problems and generate solutions for critical issues facing UAMS
• Provide tools needed to develop and enhance leadership skills

“The promise of a brighter future for Arkansas is here today,” said class member Rowena Garcia of Clinical Programs Nursing during the graduation ceremony in the Fred W. Smith Auditorium of the Jackson T. Stephens Spine & Neurosciences Institute.

Garcia recalled coming to UAMS eight years ago for an interview and being amazed at the size of the campus, beneath which beat “the pulse of Arkansas health care.”

The 24-member class representing various UAMS offices and departments was organized in October 2005 and met monthly throughout 2006.

Besides Garcia, members of the 2006 class were Shannon Barringer, Obstetrics and Gynecology; Dawn Bolt, Radiation Oncology; Mary Ann Coleman, Clinical Programs; Jennifer Conrad, Nutrition Services; Joe Cook, Spine Institute and the Department of Neurology; Toni Emerson, Academic Affairs/Research Administration; Jeri Garland, Information Technology; Paul Gubbins, College of Pharmacy; Coleen Habenicht, Anesthesiology; Suzanne Hansen, College of Health Related Professions/Ophthalmology; Josh Johnson, Information Technology; Elaine King, Psychiatry; Susan Leon, College of Medicine dean’s office; Teletha Leonard, Human Resources; Mary J. Ring, Campus Operations; Tricia Satkowski, College of Nursing; Donald Simpson, College of Health Related Professions; Felecia Smith, Physiology and Biophysics; Judy Smith, Bookstore; Kelley Suskie, Pathology; Leslie Taylor, Communications and Marketing; Beth Wheeler, MCPG and Janet Whitten, Educational Development.

The UAMS Leadership Institute class of 2007 begins meeting in January to examine other issues UAMS faces. Like the class of 2006, participants will have an opportunity to interact with colleagues and professionals from the campus and extended community to gain a better understanding of their personal leadership styles, build relationships and understand the issues facing leaders in the health care higher education industry.

The participants will work in teams to complete projects related to an important issue related to UAMS and will work together to develop a strategic plan related to the topic. The project plans will be presented to the cabinet and the participants’ supervisors at the end of the program.

The UAMS Leadership Institute curriculum is based on specific skills needed for successful leadership at UAMS. These skills are personal effectiveness, leading others, knowledge of the health care industry and UAMS, and working as a team and relationship management.

Members of the class of 2007 are: Elie Al-Chaer, Ph.D., Pediatrics; Suzanne Alstadt, Office of Research and Sponsored Programs; Dean Baribeau, Clinical Engineering; Brian Barnett, Emergency; George Belew, Clinical Programs Financial Management; Nalini Bora, Ophthalmology; Elizabeth Caldwell, Communications and Marketing; Amy Dowell, Psychiatry; Chris Ellis, College of Medicine Dean’s Office; Julie Embry, Otolaryngology; Dana Gaddy, Ph.D., Physiology and Biophysics;  Cheri Goforth, Student Activities/Housing; Shirley Gray, ACRC; Graham Greene, M.D., Urology; Richard Harper, M.D., Ophthalmology; Mary Harrington, FGP Billing Office/Systems Office; Jan Hastings, Pharm.D., Pharmacy; Joseph Jensen, M.D., Surgery; Rhonda Jorden, Information Technology; Dan Knight, M.D., Family and Preventative Medicine; Tina Moskow, Psychiatry; Holly Naramore, Telecommunications; Marie Patterson, Nursing; Carol Price, Occupational Health and Safety; Parthak Prodhan, M.D., Pediatrics; Kathy Rich, Ophthalmology/Jones Eye Institute; Heather Smith, Library; Jennifer Smith, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; Paul Spring, M.D., Otolaryngology; Kristen Sterba, Ph.D., Graduate School; Larry Suva, Ph.D., Orthopaedic Surgery; Mo Valentine, Finance/Grants Accounting; and Steve Wood, College of Medicine Dean’s Office.