/////Shorey Wins Outstanding Woman Faculty Award
Shorey Wins Outstanding Woman Faculty Award 2018-01-05T09:18:31+00:00

APRIL 10, 2007 | When Deborah Cunningham, M.D., met with her mentor, Jeannette M. Shorey II, M.D., for the first time in 2005, a power outage left the UAMS College of Medicine Faculty Affairs Office without light.

“There in the darkness, my enlightenment began,” Cunningham said in a letter nominating Shorey for the 2007 Outstanding Woman Faculty Award, which honors mentorship, leadership, scholarship and achievement.

Shorey was named the winner March 22 at the seventh annual Women’s Faculty Development Caucus (WFDC) at Trios restaurant in Little Rock. More than 70 women faculty members attended.

“Not only did I begin to learn how to chart a course for professional success, but also to recognize the caliber of the woman from whom the voice in the dark was emanating,” wrote Cunningham, an assistant professor of surgery. “As an academic fledgling, I could not have been more fortunate than to be paired with Dr. Shorey through the Women’s Faculty Development Caucus Mentoring Program.”

Shorey is an associate professor of internal medicine and has been the associate dean for continuing medical education and faculty affairs in the College of Medicine (COM) since 2004. She joined the faculty as an associate professor of geriatrics in 2002, after spending 18 years at Harvard Medical School as an intern, resident, faculty member and residency program director. She is the daughter of Winston K. Shorey, M.D., dean of the UAMS COM from 1961 through 1974, and Jeanette M. Shorey, M.D., who also was a faculty member.

Shorey thanked Cunningham and the COM’s women faculty members for the “warmth, support and sense of community” she has felt since returning to Arkansas.

“I am so grateful to the WFDC for this honor,” she added later. “The Women’s Caucus as a whole – made of all its working committees – is the best ‘mentoring engine’ I have ever known.  There is nothing more important to the continued success of academic medicine than to mentor our future physicians and scientists. Of course the most wonderful paradox is that when you listen carefully to junior faculty and help them shape their professional paths, there is nothing more rewarding than witnessing their successes.” 

Cunningham said Shorey provided her with sound career advice and that their sessions left her “feeling buoyed, ignited by her optimism and exuberant attitude and equipped with a plan and a dash of political acumen.”

Shorey has designed and delivered many mentoring, teaching and communication workshops at UAMS and nationally. She has served as vice president and board member of the American Academy on Communication in Healthcare (formerly the American Academy on Physician and Patient).

Under Shorey’s leadership, the Office of Faculty Affairs has greatly expanded its services and added a faculty wellness program. She is working with COM and UAMS Medical Center leaders to expand the CARE (Compassion, Attitude, Respect, Excellence) program, which works to promote a culture of patient-centered care and positive interactions among UAMS staff. 

“The Women’s Faculty Development Caucus will continue to be a nurturing and powerful force that will help transform UAMS into a genuinely patient-centered clinical enterprise, wherein every person and every professional relationship on the campus will help assure that we deliver excellence in patient care, teaching, and research,” Shorey said at the awards dinner.

Last year’s award winner, Cynthia Kane, Ph.D., an associate professor of neurobiology and developmental sciences, gave each nominee a yellow rose. Other nominees were:

• Mary Aitken, M.D., M.P.H., an associate professor of pediatrics and the incoming WFDC president.

• Lee Lee Doyle, Ph.D., professor emeritus, obstetrics and gynecology

• Paulette Mehta, M.D., professor, internal medicine

• Carmelita Pablo, M.D., associate professor and chair of the Department of Anesthesiology

The WFDC was founded in 1989 as a professional development and mentoring program to help women advance to leadership positions. The cofounders were Debra H. Fiser, M.D., a longtime pediatrics faculty member and chairman of the Department of Pediatrics who was named COM dean last year, and Teresita Angtuaco, M.D., a professor of radiology. Both are previous winners of the Outstanding Woman Faculty Award.

Since launching its formal mentoring program in 1996, the caucus has matched more than 80 junior women faculty members with mentors. In 1997, the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) awarded the organization the first ever Women in Medicine Leadership Award in recognition of its professional development activities.

New officers were announced at the dinner. In addition to Aitken, they are: Dana Gaddy, Ph.D., an associate professor of physiology, vice president; and Sara Tariq, M.D., an assistant professor of internal medicine, secretary treasurer.