/////Fifteen UAMS Educators Receive University-Wide Teaching Award
Fifteen UAMS Educators Receive University-Wide Teaching Award 2018-01-05T09:15:56+00:00

FEB. 24, 2006 | In a Feb. 21 ceremony at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS), 15 faculty members received the inaugural Chancellor’s Faculty Teaching Award.


The award was created to recognize faculty members on a university-wide basis for their teaching accomplishments. Several teaching awards also are presented within each of the university’s five colleges and graduate school, including the Golden Apple Award, the Red Sash Award and several awards for excellence in service and research.


“We want to make sure to reward our educators for the important work they do here at UAMS,” Chancellor I. Dodd Wilson, M.D., said. “Our reputation for education is strong, and we intend to keep it that way, particularly as we compete in the future to bring the best and brightest students to our campus.”


Honorees were introduced by the dean of their respective colleges and each received an engraved plate.


For detailed information on each of the award winners, visit http://www.uams.edu/academicaffairs/facultyawards.asp.



College of Medicine

Susan Beland, M.D. — In 1986, Beland received a medical degree from UAMS and went on to complete her residency in the UAMS Department of Internal Medicine. Today, she is associate professor of medicine and director of the Division of General Internal Medicine as well as the recipient of numerous teaching awards including the Red Sash Award and the Golden Apple Award.


Robert Bradsher, M.D. — A 1976 graduate of the UAMS College of Medicine, Bradsher joined the faculty in 1980. He has held the positions of director of the Division of Infectious Diseases and program director for the Internal Medicine residency program and was named the inaugural Richard V. Ebert Professor of Medicine.


Arlo Kahn, M.D.Kahn is professor in the Department of Family and Preventive Medicine in the College of Medicine, associate professor in the Department of Health Policy and Management in the College of Public Health and holds the Harold Silberbush, M.D., Endowed Chair. During three decades on the faculty at UAMS, Kahn has emphasized nutrition and prevention in his teaching, research and clinical care.


College of Nursing

Neena Grissom, R.N. — Grissom is both an alumna of the College of Nursing and a nurse educator there. She received the Best Classroom Teacher award from graduating senior nursing students every year from 1994-2003 and has taught a variety of courses in the bachelor’s degree program including pharmacology, foundations of nursing practice and complex health problems.


Jean McSweeney, Ph.D., R.N. — A professor in the College of Nursing, McSweeney currently teaches in the college’s doctoral program. McSweeney has investigated women’s prodromal and actute symptoms of heart disease for more than 12 years; her most recent grant is a five-year study funded by the National Institutes of Health for $2.3 million.


Courtney Riggs, R.N. — A graduate of the UAMS College of Nursing, Riggs is currently an acute nurse practitioner and clinical instructor in the college. In 2005, Riggs was awarded the Excellence in Didactic Teaching Award from her peers at UAMS.


Sarah Rhoads, R.N. — Rhoads specializes in women’s health and maternal/child health in her position as the specialty coordinator in the Women’s Health Nurse Practitioner program. She is a graduate of the UAMS College of Nursing and is active in several professional organizations.


College of Public Health

Kevin W. Ryan, J.D. — Ryan is associate professor in the College of Public Health and associate director of the Arkansas Center for Health Improvement. A graduate of the UALR Bowen School of Law, his academic interests center on public health law, the development of policies to improve health care delivery and financing, and the issue of access and quality of care for children, women and underserved populations.


D. Keith Williams, Ph.D. — Williams is associate professor in the Division of Biostatistics in the College of Public Health. He has been an instructor at UAMS since 1988 teaching courses in biometrical methods, data management and analysis, advanced linear models and multivariate analysis.


UAMS Graduate School

MacDonald Cave, Ph.D. — Cave serves as professor of neurobiology and developmental sciences (NBDS) in the College of Medicine. For about 20 years, he has been director of the NBDS (formerly anatomy) graduate program and the interdisciplinary graduate cell biology course.


Lawrence Cornett, Ph.D. Cornett joined the UAMS faculty in 1985 and is now professor in the Department of Physiology and Biophysics and coordinator of the UAMS graduate program in physiology and biophysics and director of Arkansas INBRE (Arkansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence). Cornett is the principal investigator of grants totaling almost $14 million from the National Institutes of Health and the National Science Foundation.


College of Health Related Professions</O:P>

Richard Zraick, Ph.D. — A tenured associate professor in the Department of Audiology and Speech Pathology in the College of Health Related Professions, Zraick also supervises student-clinicians in our University Medical Center and the UALR Speech and Hearing Clinic. He joined the UAMS and UALR faculty in 1997.


College of Pharmacy

Eddie Dunn, Pharm.D. — Dunn is a graduate of the UAMS College of Pharmacy and is currently associate professor and a member of the Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences. His main area of research is medication error reduction.


Amy Franks, Pharm.D. — A graduate of the UAMS College of Pharmacy, Franks now serves as an assistant director in the Department of Pharmacy Practice. Her teaching focuses on drug management of diseases of the heart and her research interests include investigations of drug-induced alterations of atheroembolic disease risk and the pharmacological management of patients at risk for cardiovascular disease.


Jan Hastings, Pharm.D. Hastings is professor in the College of Pharmacy where she is also coordinator of the Advanced Community Practice Clerkship and director of Early Practice Experiences. She recently was elected fellow of the American Pharmacists Association and serves on the Arkansas Pharmacists Association board of directors.



Links on this page

Chancellor’s Faculty Teaching Award: http://www.uams.edu/academicaffairs/facultyawards.asp