/////Faculty, Medical Students Receive Claibourne Watkins Award
Faculty, Medical Students Receive Claibourne Watkins Award 2018-01-05T09:15:54+00:00

AUG. 10, 2006 | Three faculty members and two students in the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Medicine were honored Aug. 8 for their achievement during the 2005-2006 school year.


Each of the honorees received the Claibourne Watkins Award, which is presented each year to an outstanding student and faculty member in the Introduction to Clinical Medicine (ICM) I and II courses.

Receiving awards for the ICM I course were David Hutchins, M.D., assistant professor in the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology, and first-year student Amy Taylor.


In a first-ever tie, two professors received the award for the ICM II course. They were Joseph Bissett, M.D., professor of medicine in the Department of Cardiology; and Sam Shultz, M.D., associate professor in the division of Community Pediatrics in the Department of Pediatrics. The student honoree was Jennifer Jacks.

<P class=MsoNormal style=”MARGIN: 0in 0in 0pt”> 

Students receiving the Watkins Award are those with the highest academic score in their respective course, while the faculty honorees are nominated by students and selected by a committee of faculty.


Claibourne Watkins, for whom the award is named, was one of the seven founders of the medical school now housed at UAMS and the school’s first professor of clinical medicine. The award was established in 2002.