/////Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award
Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award 2018-01-05T09:11:34+00:00

JULY 22, 2004 | Aubrey J. Hough, M.D., Associate Dean for Translational Research and Special Projects and the 2003-2004 recipient of the College of Medicine Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award, gave the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Lecture on July 20 in Sam Walton Auditorium. The lecture, entitled “Bioterrorism: Past, Present, and Future—Academics Confronts Armageddon,” was presented to over 200 people including faculty members, Hough’s family and friends.

The Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award recognizes outstanding faculty whose contributions to academic medicine have brought honor and prestige to the College of Medicine. Hough is internationally known for his work in adrenal tumor pathology and the pathogenesis of arthritic disorders. Over the past 21 years, he has directed the Department of Pathology with distinction and has brought the department to regional and national prominence.

Hough is a 1966 graduate of Hendrix College with high honors and is one of only approximately 60 in the college’s 128-year history to be honored as a Distinguished Alumnus. He earned his M.D. in 1970 from Vanderbilt University School of Medicine, where he was a Justin Potter Merit Scholar and secretary of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical honor society. After two years with the United States Public Health Service in Bethesda, Md., he returned to Vanderbilt as residency program director, and was promoted to associate professor of pathology in 1978.

He has served on a number of national committees in pathology and medical education, including a five-year period as a member at large of the National Board of Medical Examiners and two separate two-year terms as Chief of Staff of UAMS Medical Center.

Hough joined UAMS in 1980 as a professor and vice chairman of the Department of Pathology. He served as chairman of the department from 1981-2002, earning such honors as the Distinguished Professor Award from the Arkansas Caduceus Club, the Sophomore Golden Apple Teaching Award and the Red Sash Award by the senior class for teaching in 1984 and 1986-2003. He was appointed Associate Dean for Special Projects in 2003 and placed in charge of the College of Medicine Biodefense programs.

His current research efforts are funded by several grants including a Health Resource and Services Administration Grant for a statewide Bioterrorism Education Partnership, the largest of its kind given to any medical sciences campus. He has also developed participation of UAMS in the Western Center for Biodefense and Emergency Infections, a federally designated center comprising over 30 institutions in five states where he is a member of the executive committee.

Other Distinguished Faculty Scholars include:

 1993-94 Donald E. McMillan, Ph.D.

1994-95 Joseph H. Bates, M.D.

1995-96 Bart Barlogie, M.D., Ph.D.

1996-97 Alan Elbein, Ph.D.,

1997-98 Thomas E. Andreoli, M.D., Ph.D.

1998-99 M. Gazi Yasargil, M.D.

1999-00 Sue Griffin, Ph.D.

2000-01 Stavros Manolagas, M.D., Ph.D.

2001-02 Wesley Burks, M.D.

2002-03 Sudhir Shah, M.D.

2003-04 Aubrey Hough, Jr., M.D.