/////Psychiatry Supporters Celebrate 50 Years
Psychiatry Supporters Celebrate 50 Years 2018-01-05T08:57:10+00:00

NOV. 15, 2001 | The Friends of UAMS Psychiatry celebrated the 50th anniversary of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) earlier this month.

Allan and Carol Mendel of Little Rock opened their home for the party, which also celebrated the recent 50th birthday of department chair G. Richard Smith, M.D.

About 175 persons attended the event, including early department pioneers Fred Henker, M.D., John Peters, M.D., and Roscoe Dykman, M.D.

Dr. and Mrs. David Yocum of El Dorado; Martha Jane Murray; University of Arkansas System President and Mrs. Alan Sugg; Helen Porter Dyke; and Leslie Singer and Connie Fails of Little Rock also attended.

The party featured a video history of the department from its early days in 1951.