Accolades for November, 2001 2018-01-05T08:57:09+00:00

George Ackerman, M.D., was presented an honor from the National Kidney Foundation of Arkansas and the Division of Nephrology during a Black Tie Gala held at Chenal Country Club earlier this month. The event included a silent auction to benefit the National Kidney Foundation.

Joe Bushee, director, Construction and Contract Management, received the Senior Player of the Year Award from the Arkansas State Golf Association. Bushee was crowned the top player of the year last year, making this year’s award his second consecutive honor.

Dees McHaney Davis, R.N., a 1995 graduate of the UAMS School of Nursing, has been named Nurse of the Month for November. Davis cares for patients on both the 4A intermediate care floor and 2A surgery.

Bob Donaldson, director of the UAMS Interactive Video Network, TeleMedical Communications, has been elected president of the Arkansas Distant Learning Association (ARDLA). ARDLA is a chapter of the U.S. Distance Learning Association, an international organization dedicated to the development of programs and deployment of technology for distance learning.

Debra Fiser, M.D., chair, Department of Pediatrics, received one of the 20 Women in Medicine Silver Awards, a national award presented by the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC). The Women in Medicine Silver is awarded on a very competitive basis, given only to men and women around the country who have exemplified supreme dedication to the development of women in academic medicine.

Nancy Harris, L.C.S.W., has moved from the position of consultant and account manager at the UAMS-Arkansas Employee Assistance Program, to the position of clinical instructor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences. Harris provides psychotherapy services for older teens and adults in the Adult Psychiatry Clinic at UAMS.

Marsha M. Hines has been named the new director of Public Relations for the Donald W. Reynolds Center on Aging. Hines served as director of Development and Public Relations for Jones Eye Institute for eight years before accepting her new position.

Cindy Kane, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, received a notice of acceptance from the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB). The ASCB Public Information Committee (PIC) has accepted her abstract “Developmental alcohol inhibits, survival, proliferation, and maturation…” for inclusion in its 2001 Press Book, which serves as a guide for attracting national and international press coverage on the latest biological developments.

Kim Keedy, R.N., was named Nurse of the Month for October. Keedy, previously a nurse at ACH in the Pediatric ICU, now works for the University Physicians Medical Group as a Gastrointestinal Nurse.

Jayant Kumar, M.D., has joined the Department of Internal Medicine as an assistant professor in the Division of Nephrology. He is also a staff physician in the Central Arkansas Veterans Healthcare System.

Meredith Lightfoot, M.D., was awarded an educational grant from the University of Pennsylvania. She will complete a two-year residency in urology during the next academic year.

Carolyn McCone, C.F.R.E., joined the Donald W. Reynolds Center Aging as the new director of Development and Marketing. McCone joins RCOA after serving as vice president of the St. Vincent Medical Center Foundation for 11 years.

W. Robert Morrow, M.D., a professor in the Department of Pediatrics and the chief of pediatric cardiology at ACH, has been appointed to a two-year term on the Pediatric Transplant Committee of the United Network for Organ Sharing. Dr. Morrow is the only specialist in cardiology who serves on this committee, which helps determine policies for all pediatric organ transplants throughout the country.

Rajesh V. Shah, M.D., recently joined the Department of Internal Medicine as an assistant professor in the Division of Hematology and Oncology. His practice focuses on urological malignancies.

Chancellor Emeritus Harry P. Ward, M.D., received an honorary degree from Lyon College in Batesville during its annual Founders’ Day Convocation. Dr. Ward, one of two honorary degree recipients, was also keynote speaker for the convocation. The honorary degree from Lyon is but one of many honors Ward has received throughout his career.

Gary Wheeler, M.D., recently earned two significant awards. He received the American Heart Association Advocate Award for 2000-2001. Dr. Wheeler also received an Educator Award from the Southern Society for Pediatric Research (SSPR). The SSPR award recognizes an outstanding educator in pediatric medicine. 

Chancellor I. Dodd Wilson, M.D., was named distinguished service member of the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) by the association’s executive council. Dr. Wilson was elected by the AAMC Executive Committee to AAMC Distinguished Service Membership in recognition of his service to the Council of Deans (COD) as chair from 1995 to 1996. He was also recognized for his service on the COD Administrative Board and AAMC Executive Council.

The Department of Radiation Oncology welcomes Yulong Yan, Ph.D., as assistant professor. He has experience in all clinical aspects of radiotherapy, and his research background is in optimization of radiotherapy.

Ricardo Zuniga, M.D., has joined the Department of Internal Medicine as an assistant professor in the Division of Rheumatology and Immunology. His special clinical interest is lupus.

University Relations and Media Services received 12 awards from the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC). UAMS Journal and UAMS Update both received regional recognition with the awarding of a Silver Quill Award of Merit from IABC. University Relations also received awards from the local chapter during its Bronze Quill Awards ceremony, including three awards of excellence and four awards of merit. Media Services received two awards of excellence and three awards of merit.