Joseph Chacko, M.D., Invested in Sally McSpadden Boreham Chair in Ophthalmology

Sept. 27 2016 | Joseph G. Chacko, M.D., professor of ophthalmology and neurology in the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Medicine, was invested Sept. 26 in the Sally McSpadden Boreham Chair in Ophthalmology. Chacko has been the director of neuro-ophthalmology at the UAMS Harvey & Bernice Jones Eye Institute since 2005. An [...]

By | September 27th, 2016|Faculty, News Release, University News|0 Comments

UAMS Awarded Nearly $42 Million by NIH to Oversee 17-site Pediatric Clinical Trial Network Across U.S.

Sept. 21, 2016 | The University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) has been awarded $41.8 million from the National Institutes of Health (NIH) to oversee a 17-site pediatric clinical trial network that will provide medically underserved and rural children access to clinical studies studying environmental influences on early development. UAMS will be the Data [...]

By | September 21st, 2016|Faculty, Featured, News Release, Research, University News|0 Comments

UAMS Invests Sheldon Riklon, M.D., in Kohler Professorship

LITTLE ROCK — Sheldon Riklon, M.D., one of only two Marshallese physicians in the world who has completed medical school and residency training from U.S.-accredited programs, has been invested as the inaugural holder of the Peter O. Kohler, M.D., Endowed Distinguished Professorship in Health Disparities.

By | September 16th, 2016|Faculty, News Release, University News|0 Comments

UAMS Honors Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion

Sept. 14, 2016 | The UAMS Center for Diversity Affairs awarded a faculty, staff member and student with 2016 Diversity and Inclusion Awards of Excellence on Sept. 12. The honorees and other nominees were announced during the annual State of Diversity and Inclusion at UAMS. There were 22 nominees across three categories for contributions to [...]

By | September 14th, 2016|Faculty, Student, University News|0 Comments

Patricia Cowan, Ph.D., R.N., Invested in Linda C. Hodges Dean’s Chair

Aug. 9, 2016 | Patricia A. Cowan, Ph.D. R.N., dean of the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) College of Nursing, was invested Aug. 4 in the Linda C. Hodges Dean’s Chair. Cowan succeeds Lorraine Frazier, who left UAMS last year, as both the chair and dean. Cowan began at UAMS on Nov. 9, [...]

By | August 9th, 2016|Faculty, News Release, University News|0 Comments

UAMS’ Sue Griffin, Ph.D., Honored with Lifetime Achievement Award by Alzheimer’s Association

July 25, 2016 | University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) researcher Sue T. Griffin, Ph.D., recently received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Alzheimer’s Association at its International Conference in Toronto. Griffin has made groundbreaking contributions in the study of Alzheimer’s disease and other neurodegenerative conditions. She is the Alexa and William T. Dillard professor [...]

By | July 25th, 2016|Faculty, News Release, University News|0 Comments

UAMS, Arkansas Faith Leaders Promote Health Equity

Acacia Bamberg Sallati was the event's keynote speaker. July 18, 2016 | Nearly 200 Arkansas faith leaders, health ministries, educators, researchers and health care providers recently gathered in Little Rock to make connections and share ideas that will help reduce health disparities in Arkansas. The second annual Community-Campus Partnership Conference to Address Health [...]

By | July 18th, 2016|Faculty, Research, University News|0 Comments

Pharmacy Camp Shows Career Possibilities

Michael Anders, Ph. D., uses a manikin in the UAMS Centers for Simulation Education to discuss anatomy and clinical care during a Pharmacy Camp session. July 5, 2016 | Learning how to take a blood pressure reading by practicing on a manikin that reacts like a human or getting hands-on experience and instruction [...]

By | July 5th, 2016|Faculty, Student, University News|0 Comments

Donna Gullette Named Outstanding UAMS Woman Faculty Member

May 11, 2016 | Donna Gullette, Ph.D., A.P.R.N., associate dean for practice and professor in the UAMS College of Nursing, received the 2016 Outstanding Woman Faculty Award from the UAMS Women’s Faculty Development Caucus. Gullette, who is also director of the college’s Master of Nursing Science (M.N.Sc.) program, was recognized April 28 at the caucus’ [...]

By | May 11th, 2016|Faculty, University News|0 Comments